Different Stages Of Menopause And Their Complications Women Must Know

Different Stages Of Menopause And Their Complications Women Must Know

Did you know that “menopause” technically refers to one, specific event in a woman’s life? Did you know that there are actually 3 stages of menopause? Before you panic over 3 times the hot flashes, we’ll break it down for you. There are 3 stages of menopause, and what most women call “menopause” is actually perimenopause. After perimenopause is menopause stage 2, followed by the final menopause stage, postmenopause. Read on to find out what occurs during each of these stages of menopause and where you may currently stand.

Menopause Stage 1

Around 1 in 100 women experience the menopause before 40 years of age. This is known as premature menopause or premature ovarian insufficiency. Some women go through an early surgical menopause after they might have had a hysterectomy and have had to get their ovaries removed.

Menopause Stage 2

Menopause stage 2 Perimenopause is the first menopause stage of the process and actually means “around the end of menstruation” (Reader’s Digest). According to Mayo Clinic, the average woman is 47 when she reaches perimenopause. During this time, your menstrual cycles will still occur, but irregularly. Those frustrating side effects, like mood swings and vaginal dryness, typically begin during perimenopause. While some of the symptoms taper off after menopause, others like vaginal dryness may continue to worsen as you age.

Some common symptoms include:

  • Irregular Periods
  • Vaginal Dryness
  • Hot Flashes
  • Mood Swings
  • Weight Gain

If you’re experiencing any of these symptoms, talk with your Doctor about available options. If you’re experiencing painful sex, try Replens™ Vaginal Moisturizer to relieve vaginal dryness.